Light in the Pit

In counseling a friend who is struggling with his faith through a battle with gross sin, he followed my encouragement and read Scripture even when he was not wanting to. After reading Isaiah he sent this message to me:

Even though I don’t know why He would permit/allow/plan evil in the world, and all of its pain and suffering upon His own image bearers; and even though I don’t feel like he’s doing everything for His own glory and name is something to be praised… I do know that a God who would send His son to die and become a man for all eternity for the sake of His own is one who probably has a good reason for allowing it, and is worthy of my trust and faith, even if I don’t like it.

A God who would bring about the gospel is not a God who is inherently evil or selfish.

And noticing that half the Psalms were laments… I didn’t feel out of place. I felt like I was experiencing what God puts all his people through.  It was reassuring.

They questioned His faithfulness too, and His love.  It seems it’s part of the faith process, because otherwise it’s just mental assent to facts, not a heart-felt commitment and trust refined through fire.  It’s like the difference between watching Saving Private Ryan and actually being in war.

 

Even in the darkest pits, He shines in mercy and grace.

 “If you love Me, you will keep My commandments. “I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may be with you forever; that is the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it does not see Him or know Him, but you know Him because He abides with you and will be in you.  I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you.” John 14:15-18

About ostrakinos

Pastoral sojourner in the world. Raising up four daughters. Citizen of earth. Resident of heaven. Taking ten looks at Christ.

Posted on September 5, 2011, in Experiential / Application, Meditation/Reflections. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

