Soliloquy Now

So I’m not Jesus, but sometimes people expect me to be.  I can’t use that as an excuse to settle into the lounge of my comfortable sins, yet this side of the new earth, I’ll never think or perform perfectly since the law of sin and death reigns in my members. (Romans 7:18 ff)

As a divinely-created work in progress, I sojourn this vapor life battling principalities and darkness seeping in stench while growing in grace by the everlasting power of the Holy Spirit. Never again will I be faced with God’s wrath, but I can’t use that as a licentious buffer.  Daily, I repent – turning my back on my silliness, stupidity, and self-absorbed attempts at humility; yet I still find myself constructing religious strawmen who want to take me to lunch.  I pray the menu is short and the card is refused.

I know and love the Law of God, but my members stage a strike – a temporal coup reminding of my yet-to-be-ness.  The struggles run fast but my God is quicker.  He chastises me like a good Father would. (Hebrews 12:5-6)

I’ve received every blessing in the heavenly places and have been given everything pertaining to life and godliness. (Ephesians 1:3-12)  I’ve got the tools; I just need to use them properly. (Colossians 1:9-12)

Christ is my only hope. He is my only refuge. (Psalm 62:5; 5:11) He is my only salvation; anything else is a plastic banana facsimile. He is the LORD our God and there are no others besides Him. (Exodus 20:3)

Love constitutes all, but that love is defined by God and not me. (1Corinthians 13:1ff) As believers, He has equipped us with a supernatural ‘loverificness’ that only the regenerate obtain, yet this side of the new heaven, it is a pale imitation of what Christ gives. Nonetheless, I press on.

I make peace as much as possible, but sometimes I feel like the ICBMs are pointed in my face. (Romans 12:18; 2Corinthians 12:15)  I wonder how many of my missiles are aimed wrongly?  Lord, bring detente!

Peace with God in Christ is beyond all understanding. (Philippians 4:7) The gospel reminds me everyday that I need Him more than He would ever need me.

The grace of God cradles my soul.  The beauty of Christ floors me.

I don’t think I fully get what it means to do all to the glory of God, but I will praise Him anyway. Lord, help me in my weakness.

About ostrakinos

Pastoral sojourner in the world. Raising up four daughters. Citizen of earth. Resident of heaven. Taking ten looks at Christ.

Posted on July 7, 2008, in Meditation/Reflections. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

