Mt. Hood and the Reflection Upon His Providence and Beauty

For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes, His eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly seen, being understood through what has been made, so that they are without excuse.” Romans 1:20

My heart has been captured by the lost climbers at Mt. Hood. Shortly after I heard the news that James Kim had died while trying to help his stranded family at Rogue River in Southern Oregon, I was drawn into the plight of Kelly James, Brian Hall, and Jerry Cooke in yet another bad weather, life-threatening, ordeal.

Arguments about the sensibility of climbing during certain conditions notwithstanding, I find myself praying for these men as I can see my own family waiting on me to return from a camping trip, day hike, or hunting expedition. I can hear folks saying that I was foolish and stupid to go to a certain place given the risks involved. Perhaps the comparison breaks down a bit in my own experience and judgment, but I certainly can relate to the passionate pursuit of wanting to commune with His creation.

There is nothing more pure than smelling pine.  There is nothing more glorious than silence intruded by the subtle rushing sound of His wind.  There is nothing more praiseworthy and invigorating than being in the midst of flowing snow and breathing in the crispness of sunlit glory.  Unfortunately, with those moments comes a need to respect the mighty power and danger present as well.

I don’t doubt that these men understood that nor do I pretend to sit as a judge.  Rather, what is impressed upon me at this time is our utter dependence upon Him and our need to pray for deliverance and my continued longing for heaven.

May the Lord comfort and preserve us all till we are perfected.

About ostrakinos

Pastoral sojourner in the world. Raising up four daughters. Citizen of earth. Resident of heaven. Taking ten looks at Christ.

Posted on December 19, 2006, in Cultural, Experiential / Application. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

