Things I’ve Been Thinking

Every time I try harder I dig a deeper hole. The same sneaky self that made the trench wants to see a full canal.

Putting off the wrong behaviors automatically means that I must put something else on or I’m just a half-done loaf of uneatable bread.

Relying on grace doesn’t come naturally.

Many times I want to adjust the color, balance, hue, and brightness on other TV sets while forgetting that my own picture is fuzzed out.

How can He expect so much from a man who is so little?

When I contemplate that the author of the universe, the one who made all things both seen and unseen, has set His affections upon me for the simple pleasure and by the kind intention of His will I’m held emotionally catatonic and forever awed.

Sometimes I wish I could check out but I know the plow awaits me.

Providence only makes sense in hindsight and we will never be able to see the next step clearly yet we know it is perfectly laid.

 

About ostrakinos

Pastoral sojourner in the world. Raising up four daughters. Citizen of earth. Resident of heaven. Taking ten looks at Christ.

Posted on June 10, 2006, in Meditation/Reflections. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. hey! Credit that photo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

