New Year. New Song. Pug song.

joepugtown

Yes… the new year is here, and with it comes the traditional call to resolution and reflection and all manner of multi-colored introspection flavored in a swirl of  observational commentary.  So… as to not be outdone by my assumed imaginary competitors, I would like to present you with a song accompanied by a few thoughts as you launch into fresh grass.

Click on the video. Lyrics found here.

Turn off your phones. Muzzle the dog. Sedate your world. Listen.

What a beautifully wrenched story sung as a raw lament.  The ghosts of parental and personal disappointments and past paths – the wish lists and the deaths and the recognition and painful remembrances all weave past me when I listen making me more elated about having Christ as my hope for this world fades in the curse.

Haven’t you had the timber of your heart tested?  Seeking and being sought. Buying and being bought. The good and the ugly. And the heartaches and cries and the love stories strung across our time here. Classic plots.

Haven’t you been stubborn as a butcher?  Thankless as a guest?

What are you doing with your life? joe-pug1

“will you recognize my face
when god’s awful grace
strips me of my jacket and my vest
and reveals all the treasure in my chest”


May His overflowing mercies bathe us while we weep and may His never-ending light guide our path.

About ostrakinos

Pastoral sojourner in the world. Raising up four daughters. Citizen of earth. Resident of heaven. Taking ten looks at Christ.

Posted on January 3, 2009, in Meditation/Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,089 other followers

